Kicking the New Year Off Right

Photo property of zanebenefits.com

Photo property of zanebenefits.com

It seems like the beginning of every new year is paved with good intentions, but how many people actually manage to follow through with their resolutions?

I want to be one of those people who can stick with something for more than a few weeks or a month. I don’t want to make just another resolution. I want to make realities. Words have a power attached to them, and it’s simple to overlook this. What I mean by a reality is that I want to strive for something I can actually attain.

My first reality is to graduate with my Master’s degree in February. This has been something that I’ve been working on for over a year, and due to unfortunate circumstances, has been delayed. I’ve made it this far, so another month shouldn’t be an issue.

Second, I want to move into a house closer to my friends and family. I love where I currently live, but it’s an hour away from the nearest person in my life. This is a good step for me and feel it’s one I should have done ages ago.

I’m going to finish this list off with only one more reality: I want to travel (outside of work). Many of my friends and family have gone away on trips or staycations, but in 2013, my vacations have been filled with work, stress, or illness, and this is something that I’m determined to change. I do a lot of traveling for work, but it’s just not the same. My first location is New Orleans, and I can’t wait to start planning that trip.

These are three simple things that I am hoping to achieve in the beginning of the new year, and with the right motivation, I’m sure I can accomplish whatever I set my mind to. Who knows? Maybe I’ll be adding to this list sometime soon!

What are your resolutions or realities for the new year? How have you set yourself up to reach them? 

2 thoughts on “Kicking the New Year Off Right

  1. Pingback: Predictions: Something to Believe In? | Life's Unfiltered Ramblings

  2. Pingback: Checking In | Life's Unfiltered Ramblings

Leave a Reply

