Predictions: Something to Believe In?

Photo courtesy of www.currentsnj.com

Photo courtesy of http://www.currentsnj.com

With the new year comes more than just resolutions, parties, and the chance to start the year fresh. Horoscopes and predictions run rampant, but should we take stock in them?

There are some that we can’t help but want to believe in, and those we’d rather not happen. But when you take notice of how many people actually listen to these predictions or horoscopes, you start to wonder why.

I’ve always been of the opinion that you take everything with a grain of salt, as nothing is set in stone for the future. We all know our astrology signs, but that doesn’t necessarily mean we believe everything our signs say about us. When I opened up my computer this morning, the first thing that popped up was my 2014 Horoscope Overview. Here’s some of the things I want to believe in and some of things I’d rather ignore:

The Good

  • Your money situation looks incredibly bright in 2014. The year looks quite splendid in terms of financial abundance.
  • Travel looks spectacular starting this summer. Not only will you have the good graces to roam the globe, but if you’re single there’s a good chance you could meet someone special along the way.
  • Thanks to surging levels of creativity you’re about to experience, you’ll have no problem manifesting all that you want.

The Not-So-Good

  •  Your banking will be thrown into a bit of chaos. Not to worry though, this will quickly improve after January.
  • 2014 could prove to be one of your most social years on record. You’ll be craving a retreat by the end of the year just to recover from the non-stop mixing and mingling.

In my last post, I talked about my realities (resolutions). I listed travel as one of the most important things I want to do this year, and if this horoscope is to be believed, I’m right on track. The ‘financial abundance’ is just an added bonus.

Looking at the negative, it seems as though the ‘financial abundance’ will not happen until the year progresses, and that this month will be filled with monetary chaos. Who wants that? I feel that’s an easy one to write off.

Although I like to have a good time with family and friends, I don’t consider myself an overly social person. I like to keep to myself with a good book curled up with my pup, and large groups of people drinking that I don’t know puts me off. So, while this may seem like a good thing to others, and was portrayed as a good thing, to me, it’s not.

I think the one thing that I really want to believe is the high levels of creativity. I’m taking on some big projects this year, including writing a collection of short stories, continuing to write screenplays, and more. Creativity has always been something I valued greatly, and to hear that I’ll have a surge of it is a wonderful thing. I have a hard time of coming up with inspiration on my own, and as I’m a writer for a living, albeit an automotive journalist, I’m writing constantly and feel burnt out when the day comes to an end.

I feel that it’s predictions like this that can actually do some good. Since reading through all aspects of my 2014 overview, I feel better about the coming year and my anxiety is somewhat lessened. I set high expectations for myself, and with that, comes higher stress levels when they aren’t reached. Although putting stock into something this untrustworthy may seem like a bad idea, I believe that if something makes you feel better, makes you strive to achieve what it says you can achieve, why should it be mocked?

What are your thoughts? Have you received a prediction that made you want to believe in it? Do you actively follow your horoscope? Do you think that horoscopes and predictions are nothing to take seriously?

Leave a Reply

