Photo of the Week: Camaro Photo Shoot

Photo property of Megan Stewart

Photo property of Megan Stewart

Cars have always been a passion of mine, even at an early age. For some reason, I was drawn to them more than I was barbies or other girly toys. As an adult, I’ve been able to translate that passion into a career.

When I started working as an automotive journalist, I was at a disadvantage. I didn’t know how to drive a stick shift. Over the years while growing up, I’ve dabbled in learning how, but it never seemed to stick with me. I struggled and struggled, until one day it just clicked.

My work thought it would be a good idea to write a feature on my journey to accomplishing this task. I took up the challenge, and when it was all said and done, I had to test myself one last time.

If I could drive my stepdad’s 1968 Chevrolet Camaro RS SS, I would know without a doubt that I had mastered what I set out to accomplish. Our photographer came out and shot some professional photos of me driving at the beach in an empty parking lot, but the photos shown here are all mine.

Not bad for some iPhone photos, right?

Photo property of Megan Stewart

Photo property of Megan Stewart

But as it stands, no good day is complete without a visit from the cops. That’s right, because of the way our photographer was shooting the photos, we all got pulled over – even though we weren’t going more than 15 miles per hour – and issued a ticket. What a way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

If one state cop wasn’t bad enough, his buddy had to cruise on by to make sure everything was alright. They came and went after a good 20 minutes and we wrapped up shooting for the day. I guess we’ll make sure to have a permit next time we go out shooting.

For me, the best part of the day was the chance to drive the car. It was one of the first times I really had the chance to take it on the open road. In the past, I’ve only ever driven it around the neighborhood and across the street. It was everything I could have hoped for and more. This is my dream car for a reason. And if you can’t see that just by the looks of it, if you ever get the chance to get behind the wheel of one, I’m sure you’ll start to see it how I do. I can’t wait for the day where I’ll have the opportunity to own this car and drive it around with the top down and the sun shining along the California coast.

Leave a Reply

