Travel Destination: New Orleans

Photo property of bachelorparty.com

Photo property of bachelorparty.com

Travel is something everyone should do at some point in their life. Many of my friends took a year off between high school and college to go backpacking around Europe or sightseeing in Japan, and I couldn’t help but envy them. I’m sure if I wanted and had the means, I could have done the same thing, but I felt I should finish up with school as fast as possible.

Even when I graduated, I still didn’t take any time off to travel.

I went straight to work. I didn’t even enjoy graduating. My early twenties have been filled with ambition and drive, but not a whole lot of fun and enjoyment. With my current job, I get to travel just about every month, but I never have time to enjoy the scenery. I’m stuck indoors working or out driving cars on predetermined drive loops.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I want to go to New Orleans. I am drawn to this place like no other. Yeah, there are an obscene amount of bars there, but that isn’t what drew me in. The culture is so rich and filled with a history that is addictive and seductive.

Before shows like American Horror Story: Coven and The Originals aired, I only had a mild interest in the town because of the supernatural folklore. These shows have given it a concrete place in my mind, showed me the city, and are luring me there.

Photo property of americancruiselines.com

Photo property of americancruiselines.com

I’m not complaining. Far from it.

I’ve always been fascinated with the supernatural, fairy tales, and the darker side of humanity; it gives me inspiration, something to write about and escape my own reality. New Orleans is filled with myths and legends of voodoo and witchcraft and vampires, and while it may not be at the forefront of most people’s minds my age, it sure is on mine.

There’s no doubt that I want to go visit the bars down on Bourbon Street. Who wouldn’t? It’s like a rite of passage. I don’t want to have my twenties pass me by without knocking off some things on my bucket list.

There are definitely other, more exotic places that I want to visit, but this is first on my list, and I’ll be damned if this doesn’t happen by the end of 2014. Hopefully I can grab a few of my friends to come with me to make this experience something I’ll never forget.

What is your first travel destination for 2014?

3 thoughts on “Travel Destination: New Orleans

  1. I want to travel to New Orleans as well! For all of the traveling I have done in my wandering years ( I am not done yet by any means!) I haven’t made it down there but have always wanted to go! I debate on going for Mardi Gras ever other year or so, but I feel the city will have so much more to offer when its not packed with crazy tourist looking to knock off another point on the bucket list. Your absolutely right though bourbon street is a must! I hope you make it down there!!!

    • I don’t think I ever considered going down there for Mardi Gras. Yes, it would be a blast, but this trip is more personal for me, I feel. Bourbon street is never something to pass up, but the city has so much more to offer and that’s what has me so enthralled. I hope you make it down there!

  2. Pingback: Checking In | Life's Unfiltered Ramblings

Leave a Reply

