That One Time I Went For It: Part 2

Photo property of Megan Stewart

Photo property of Megan Stewart

I walked up to the Aston Martin representative, and she asked me if i wanted to take it for a spin. I was shocked, to say the least.

Here’s some insider information. When you have certain cars like Aston Martins, Bentleys, and other luxury sports cars, you usually have to be 25 to drive them thanks to liability issues. At the time of this drive, I was barely 22.

But who would turn down an opportunity like this? Not me! we hopped in the DB9, I adjusted the seat and mirrors, and the rep told me a little about the newest features and design elements.

Gone away was the traditional shifter and in its place were push buttons to control the drive settings. Interesting. She went over how everything worked, and I thought we were ready to go.

Finally comfortable, I started it up and we were off. The rev of the engine was music to my ears. As we exited the resort’s drive, I stepped on the gas. Although we couldn’t really push the speed — damn road conditions — i managed to get it up to just under 70 mph. It was definitely worth the wait.

Cue contagious smile.

Everything I’d heard about the DB9 was true. And then some. The seats conformed to our body upon acceleration. It handled like a dream with precise steering and nimble maneuvering. Because the car is so low to the ground, we had to adjust for the road conditions. All in all, it was a fantastic experience and one I hope I get the opportunity to repeat.

The drive came to an end, but the smile never left my face for the rest of the trip. It was shortly after that my age became public knowledge, and I felt bad for not being more forthcoming, but I’ve always been of the mind that it is better to ask for forgiveness than for permission.

Leave a Reply

