Quote of the Week: William Shakespeare

Photo property of Megan Stewart

Photo property of Megan Stewart

When I heard this quote in one of my first English classes at college, I didn’t think much of it. I just thought that was how you started a class, the “how does this make you feel, what does this make you think” assignment. For some reason it really stuck with me.

It made me view my life and the lives of those around me in a different light when I let the words really sink in. We can’t blame anyone or anything for what happens in our life. We can’t just write it off, saying it was supposed to happen, positive or negative. If we want something to happen, we have the power to make it happen, to see it through. We have the control, not our friends or our family or the events that happen in our lives. To see real change you first have to create it in yourself. You have the power to make your own destiny, it’s just up to you if you want to use it.

I read this quote on a daily basis, as it is something that gets me through those tough days, and the days when I want to feel in control. I like to live my life by this and to believe that I have the power to create the life for myself as I see fit. I don’t have to conform to another person’s views or ideals. I’m free to make my own choices and stand by them, even if they’re not always someone else’s favorite.

Leave a Reply

