It’s Lunch Time…Again

Photo property of robbwolf.com

Photo property of robbwolf.com

I don’t know about you, but when it comes time for me to take my lunch break, I like to just take a breather from everything going on. I want to distance myself from work, from school, from life.

Every week our group goes out to lunch one day a week, but the other four days, I usually sit by myself in the corner table next to the window. The sun shines directly through the windows, heating up my little corner, keeping others away.

But I don’t mind the heat.

I get to fully relax, take the time to write, to catch up on reading. Others sit with their groups, the same ones every day, talking about the most insignificant things like it’s the most important thing that has ever happened.

Sometimes I wonder to myself if I’m like that with my friends, if we talk about the latest trip to the grocery store like it was a life and death situation.

But then I think, “Not all of my friends do their own shopping.”

I feel like it would be nice to get caught up in an epic conversation over mediocre food and an almost stereotypically predictable life.

Even though I get to listen to hundreds of conversations through the course of my many lunches in the office, I sometimes feel like that’s something I’d enjoy doing. That camaraderie is nice to have, even every once in a while.

Maybe I’ll have to try that on my next lunch break.

8 thoughts on “It’s Lunch Time…Again

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Lunch post Day 3 | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  2. Pingback: Lunch at the Ranch – Running To and Fro | Running Brook Reflections

  3. Hi Megan, I enjoyed your lunch story very much and could picture the scene very clearly from your description. I am doing the zero to hero challenge ad we had to join a new challenge, write a post and then read other posts and make comments. We are learning how the ‘community’ works and extending ourselves by doing these challenges. I am thoroughly enjoying finding new blogs to read and seeing how much diversity there is from the word prompts. Thanks again. Deb

  4. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Lunch Posts | Joe's Musings

  5. Pingback: How Seed Catalog Orders are Born | mariestephensgardening

Leave a Reply

