Getting Promoted: That’s a Good Thing, Right?

I’ve been looking to move up at work or move on, as I’ve been struggling to cover all my expenses. While one door didn’t really pan out, another did, and this week I was told that I’d received a promotion. This news was supposed to be happy, but instead it turned into the most stressful, awkward situation I’ve been in during my entire working history.

I’d received the job of a coworker.

Photo property of uncyclopedia.wikia.com

Photo property of uncyclopedia.wikia.com

That news comes hard, especially as I considered that person a friend of mine. There were stressors coming from all angles that led to this decision, so I can’t say I didn’t see it coming. I just wish I could have done or said something to ease that inevitably crushing blow. I’m not the type of person who takes pleasure when others around me are struggling, and I tried to make the transition as smooth as possible, but I was met with confrontation after confrontation, and I didn’t know what to do.

So I turned to my superiors.

That may have been one of the biggest mistakes I’ve made a few words were turned into something much bigger than intended, and while the situation was ultimately resolved, I received all the backlash. For the very first day on the job, I was already struggling with my duties as I was pretty much thrown in the deep end. By the end of the day, I finally had a good bearing for the daily workings, and will figure the rest as it’s thrown at me, and then another problem just had to pop up.

As if I didn’t have enough on my plate.

The program we use to publish all our content had a scheduling issue, and then while that was getting fixed, it had a login issue, making it almost impossible to schedule work for the rest of the day. The situation finally got resolved, but by that time I’d already been home for a few hours. It’s a good thing I brought my work home with me. Scheduling a few things only takes a few minutes, so it’s not too much of a hassle. I just don’t want this to become a regular occurrence.

When I come home, I want to de-stress, not re-stress.

One thought on “Getting Promoted: That’s a Good Thing, Right?

Leave a Reply

