Quote of the Week: W. Somerset Maugham

Photo property of Megan Stewart

Photo property of Megan Stewart

There are days when I wish people knew the three rules. I’ve spent hours and hours writing, organizing my thoughts, and trying to create a novel. I know there are no rules or formulas to writing a novel, as each are different and unique to the writer, but it would make life so much easier for us writers. There’s a system to writing poems and screenplays, so why not one for novels?

I’ve recently started working on a novel, and it’s been tough. Finding the time, finding the inspiration are things that I’m struggling with. I don’t write in a linear fashion when I’m creating longer works, and that’s always caused me some issues. I have all these collections of scenes, short stories, and ideas, and piecing them together is very time-consuming.

Earlier this month, I read a post from a fellow blogger talking about this program called Scrivener. This program allows you to write your story, novel, script however you want, and organizes it in a way where you can drag and drop the different files in the order you want. I’ve started using the 30-day trial, and I’m pretty sure I’ll end up buying it. For just $45, this program saves me time, frustration, and sets everything up in a way where it’s easy to find all the bits and pieces I’ve written without pulling my hair out.

When thinking back on this quote, I realize that I don’t want a formula, I don’t want a cheat sheet. I want to be able to create a work of art that is all my own, that wasn’t influenced by a system on how to do things. Through the struggle and the hardships comes the best, most truthful writing, at least in my opinion.

 

3 thoughts on “Quote of the Week: W. Somerset Maugham

  1. That essential element of Scrivener, allowing one to easily write in a non-linear fashion, is one of the biggest features that’s helped me in my writing. It’s how I do things, and providing a simple way to holding all the parts of a novel together until you want to move them around, is way cool. Glad you’re trying it out. I don’t think you’ll ever go back to your old ways 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on According to Dave and commented:
    I don’t normally reblog, but in this case I will. Megan’s post is short, but insightful, and the quote is perfect. It also references Scrivener, which is an amazing piece of software every writer should own.

Leave a Reply

