Travel Destination: San Francisco

Here’s a city that, whenever I visit, I feel like I’m home, like I’m where I’m supposed to be. I don’t ever remember feeling the same thing anywhere else I’ve been. Whether I’m in Fisherman’s Wharf, Chinatown, shopping, visiting the Japanese Tea GArdens, or just walking around Ghirardelli Square, I’m content. There’s so much culture, so many things to do and see in the city, and although I’ve tended to repeat the same things during each visit, there is so much more that San Francisco has to offer.

Photo property of Megan Stewart

Photo property of Megan Stewart

I’ve been lucky to travel to this great city on numerous occasions, all but one of those times with one of my best friends, my mom.

It’s been roughly six months since I’ve visited, and I’m already feeling the withdrawal. My ritual when I go starts with the hideously long and boring six hour drive, followed by a long nap before dinner at one of my favorite restaurants, either Castalogna’s or Cioppino’s. The next night I usually go to the other one. When I have more than a day or two and am not there for work, I like to walk around the Japanese Tea Garden. The atmosphere there is so calming, and the little tea shop in the center serves up some truly delicious tea.

After that, it’s off to buy some souvenirs and shot glasses. I can’t go anywhere without picking up one. When walking down Fisherman’s Wharf, there are so many souvenir shops that it’s hard to pick the right ones to go in. Not all are the same, and I’ve been lucky to find a few good ones I can always count on.

Photo property of Megan Stewart

Photo property of Megan Stewart

My most recent visit took me to the Ghirardelli Chocolate Festival, where I not only was able to attend on my company’s dime, but was able to get my mom and I press passes to the event. We started off the festival with a presentation on how they prepare their signature chocolates, followed by an ice cream sundaes featuring a new fudge. That’s the best breakfast I think I’ve ever eaten.

And of course we had to follow it up with some shots of chocolate-flavored vodka.

We finished off our trip with a visit to the Boudin cafe where we enjoyed some clam chowder in a sourdough bread bowl. Talk about a delicious meal. There’s nothing like a freshly-baked bread bowl filled with delicious soup that warms your bones. It didn’t hurt that our waiter was super easy on the eyes. After that, we were off on our six hour journey back to orange county. While I plan to go back to this city over and over again, I think I’ve overdone the whole driving thing.

Next time, I’m definitely flying.

 

One thought on “Travel Destination: San Francisco

Leave a Reply

