Quote of the Week: Maureen Dowd

Photo property of www.nytimes.com

Photo property of http://www.nytimes.com

We’ve all come to settle in our lives whether we realize it or not. Whether it’s with work or relationships or cars, we’ll take what we think we can get and swallow it. But how can you know what you deserve? It’s hard. In relationships, you shouldn’t settle for someone who isn’t everything you want. You want a person who loves you completely and treats you right. We know what we want out of our relationships, and if we aren’t getting that, we need to move on. There is something better out there waiting for us. We just have to have the courage to go looking for it.

The same goes for the business world. Did you miss getting your promotion? Are you getting a pay cut? Not making what you should be? Don’t settle for that. Find a place that wants the skills you have to offer that will pay you what you need. What is is that you are currently not getting out of your particular situation? If you find that out, you can find out what you have settled on. It’s also important to know why you settled on something. Do you believe there is no one better out there for you? Do you think you won’t be hired anywhere else? Was someone else a factor in your decision? These are important questions to ask yourself. Take the time to think about the why’s and who’s and you just might find a way that you won’t have to settle for less than you deserve, regardless of the situation.

I found myself settling not too long ago as I thought I couldn’t do better that what I had. It took old friends and fun times for me to see what I was missing out on. Now, I know what I want, what I’m looking for, and why I settled in the past. I’ve set goals for myself to make sure I never wind up back in that place, and feel confident that it won’t happen again. I know who I am, how I should be treated, what I want to do, and I’m going for it!

Leave a Reply

