That Age Old Question

How do you define age? Is it just a number? A mentality? Maturity?

These are just some of the questions I’ve been asking myself lately. Looking at myself, I’m in my early twenties, and already I’ve been through more tough and stressful situations than many will go through in their entire lives. Does that make me old, or does that make me mature?

I’ve heard the phrase, “Age is just a number,” more times than I can count, and have said it myself just as many times. But what does that really mean? It makes me think that age isn’t physical, but mental. We are only as old as we feel.

Yes, the years can weigh us down, but they don’t have to. There are so many individuals out there who are over fifty, but because of their outlook on life and the activities they do, you’d never guess they were a day over forty.

But that isn’t the same for everyone.

We all know that one person who had to grow up too quickly, who didn’t enjoy the first years of adulthood to the fullest. I’m one of those people. I went straight from college to work and grad school. Of course I wanted to take time off and enjoy being young, but what I wanted from my life didn’t warrant that.

I wanted to be established, independent, and self-sufficient. Taking time off and having fun and partying my brains out wasn’t going to make that happen. It’s because of this that I’ve been called many things from “wise beyond my years,” “too mature for my age,” and my personal favorite, “old.”

I like to think that we are as old as we feel. Sometimes after a stressful day at work I feel like I’m a middle-aged woman, who just wants to go home and cuddle with her babies before heading to bed before 9pm. Other times I feel like tearing up the town with good friends and strong drinks. Can those two find a balance?

What does age mean to you?

10 thoughts on “That Age Old Question

  1. Pingback: Centenary Sparkle | litadoolan

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Golden Years | Joe's Musings

  3. Age may be a number but I’m a 42 year old woman with the magic laugh of a 12 yr old stuck in a body that thinks it’s 80. I say life is about finding the balance you seek. And Eh what’s a number anyway but random digits.

  4. Pingback: The 11th of May 1993 – Los Angeles, California | Forgotten Correspondence

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing/Photo Challenge: Inside – Golden Years | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  6. Pingback: The Elders of Us | Wired With Words

Leave a Reply

