Life of an Automotive Journalist

photo 1Now, I know its easy to boast and complain about jobs, but I have to say that mine makes it easy to do both at the same time.

I’m constantly on the road, traveling to auto shows, press events, vehicle launches, and more. It’s not the easiest thing in the world, especially as I have to leave my pup behind. But while I get to travel to places I’ve never been and drive cars most people would love to get their hands on, a part of me wishes for more stability.

This past week I had the opportunity to travel to New York City for the 2014 New York International Auto Show where I was supposed to drive the Camaro Z/28 on the track at the Monticello Motor Club, along with Chevy’s latest entry into the compact SUV segment. However, because of inclement weather, I was only able to hitch a ride in the passenger seat. But I’m not complaining. It was a lot of fun.

photo 2But there was more to my trip than just cool cars and debuts, I was able to visit with my best friend from college, someone who I haven’t seen since we graduated. It was so nice catching up, and I know it couldn’t have been possible without this trip. Added to that, I was able to see a friend who is like my little sister. Ford hosted an event on the observatory deck of the Empire State Building, which she was able to attend. Within one day, I was able to see two important people in my life thanks to my job.

Whenever I travel, I like to try and visit friends and family, and while it’s worked out a few times, this was one of the best trips I’ve had in a long while. Life as an automotive journalist is pretty awesome 🙂

Check out my latest car reviews and features now. You never know, I may have driven the car you’ve been eyeing.

Leave a Reply

