A Not-So-Ordinary List

I’m a list-oriented person. I feel like I constantly need to write a list to keep my wits about me. Whether its work, school, or life, a good list–to me–is a necessity.

But then there’s those lists that you do just for fun: The ten things you wish you could have done in your 20s. Top places to visit before you die. A list of all those people with whom you’ve had a sordid past with. The possibilities are endless.

For me, I wanted to write a list of the things that I’ve recently learned or overcame, so here it is.

You can’t put a price on your health.

After being sick most of my life, I’ve learned that sometimes a doctor visit is necessary. Spending a good majority of my childhood and teen years in and out of hospitals and doctor’s offices, you can bet your ass that I’d never voluntarily go to another one. But lately, I’ve been feeling worse and worse, and to get better, I knew I needed to suck it up and go. And now that I’m on the mend, maybe I can rethink my aversion. But just a little.

A good night’s sleep is severely underrated.

I don’t know about you, but I have a massive amount of stress that I deal with on a daily basis. Whether that follows me home from work–which it shouldn’t anymore–or arises in my social circle, it eats away at my sleep. I’m up for hours thinking about the situations and what could have been done differently or if I could have changed the outcome. But nevertheless, when I wake up after a solid 10 hours of sleep, I feel like I can take on the world. I just wish I was able to do that on a more frequent basis. But hey, I’m still young.

Being alone doesn’t mean you’re lonely.

I’ve been told countless times that I “must be lonely because I’m single.” Well, that’s absurd. Being alone and lonely are quite different. Lonely is when you’re surrounded by people but feel like you’re the only one in the room who truly understands what you’re going through. Being alone just means you enjoy your own company and aren’t going to settle for less than you deserve. While at times the single life may get a bit lonesome, that’s nothing a hug from your pup or a night out with friends can’t fix.

Wiping your hands of a bad situation doesn’t make you a bad person.

We’ve all been in that situation that causes too much stress and anger and pain. And when you finally wipe your hands of it–whatever it may be–there is an instant feeling of elation. While it may not be the easiest choice, sometimes it’s the best one. I’m not saying that you should ignore or not deal with your issues, but if there’s a part of your life that you can live without and that causes you mass amounts of negativity and stress, it may be time to say goodbye.

Your happiness is in your hands.

Don’t ever let anyone tell you that your life isn’t in your control. Some situations may be out of your hands, yes, but your choices aren’t. We can try to make everyone happy–sometimes at our own expense–and that’s all well and good. But who is there to make us happy? We shouldn’t have to rely on anyone but ourselves. We are just as important, if not moreso, and it’s time to show it to ourselves. Been eyeing that book? Buy it. Want to pamper yourself with a massage? Do it. Do whatever makes you happy.

6 thoughts on “A Not-So-Ordinary List

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: List Lesson | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: A Hope from our Long Lost Distant Relations | Wired With Words

  3. Pingback: River Garden | litadoolan

Leave a Reply

