Blog Tour: Dusk and Summer

DuskAndSummer_JosephAPinto_FrontCover_LargeDusk and Summer

Joseph A. Pinto

Does Heaven await beneath the waves? One man needs to know.

When his dying father whispers a cryptic message to him, he has no choice but to summon his courage and begin the quest of a lifetime. It’s a race against time to realize his father’s wish and fulfill his own destiny; it’s a discovery of the unbreakable bond between father and son. It’s a journey of the heart that unfolds where only the Chosen exist – in the moments between Dusk and Summer.

“A poignant, metaphoric conversation between son and father. A story that will warm your heart.”

–Yvonne S. Thornton, M.D., bestselling author of The Ditchdigger’s Daughters

The author will be donating a portion of the proceeds from this book to the Lustgarten Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research.

 Purchase Links:

Amazon:

US |UK | Canada | Australia | Germany | France | Spain | Italy | Japan | Mexico | India | Brazil

CreateSpace

Smashwords

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

iTunes (Apple)

Honesty in My Writing

When writing Dusk and Summer I genuinely believe I was as honest and open in my writing as I could be at the time; my father passed away six months prior to my writing the original novella. Having released a second edition with a publishing company seven years later, I still hold firm to the fact that my story is as true to the heart now as it was then, though my writing style has since evolved. The Sirens Call Publications team did an amazing job guiding me through the revision of the book. I couldn’t be more pleased with the caring and compassionate manner in which they handled this very delicate subject matter, and the professional acumen they displayed while doing so.

As to the honesty of my writing in general, I always crave honesty within myself, particularly when crafting a tale.  Did I stay true to my intent to allow my story to birth itself; dictate its own direction and fate; ultimately, find its own voice? These are the questions I ask myself. I can’t force something to becoming what it isn’t meant to be, I simply don’t write that way.  Much like raising a child, I nurture my stories, allow them to grow and take on a life of their own; maintaining that honesty and integrity is vital to my writing process.

Equally as important to crafting a satisfying piece is finding an individual who can be honest with me when reading my work, even when that honesty stings a bit.  Luckily, I’m blessed to have found the person with whom I trust my work implicitly.  I know this person will have the integrity and well-meaning intention to break my prose down and draw the very best out of me.  They won’t tell me what I want to hear simply because I wish to hear it.  They’re not afraid to knock me down a peg or two if need-be.  Tough love isn’t always easy to stomach, trust me, but it is necessary for a writer to grow. Sometimes, it’s even refreshing.  I’m always striving to better myself and improve with each piece I write, knowing I have someone in my corner who has my best interest at heart provides the fuel I need when I’m running on fumes.

Whereas honesty with myself will always be a key element to my creative process, the honesty this individual lends me is equally crucial.  Believe you me, I appreciate it to no end, even when it rankles just a little.  It’s a very special working relationship when someone knows your style better than you do, or at least can catch you when you slip and put your foot back on the ledge.  This person continuously allows me to see my own work in a different and ever-growing light, and I’ve become a better writer for it.  And as you can already tell, I’m keeping this person’s identity anonymous for fear that others may attempt to pry them away from me! lol

Am I honest with myself in my writing? Always. Is Dusk and Summer a story told straight from my heart and soul? Undoubtedly. Do I believe that anyone who reads Dusk and Summer will be touched by the unyielding esteem and devotion I will always hold for my father? I certainly hope so. This book is my heart on a plate; it is a gift to my father; and my fervent belief that I can in some small way impart a bit of hope and caring to others who have lost a loved one.

Who among us hasn’t held a wish in their hands for those they love? I’m fortunate enough to be able to share that wish for my father with you through my writing. If you read Dusk and Summer, I genuinely hope you feel the joy of being able to give back to someone who has given me so much.

GIVEAWAY

Sirens Call Publications will be giving away digital copies of Dusk and Summer by Joseph A. Pinto to 5 (five) lucky winners! Follow the link to enter for your chance to win!

 Win 1 of 5(five) copies of Dusk and Summer by Joseph A. Pinto!

AUTHOR INFO

JosephPinto_HeadshotJoseph A. Pinto is the horror author of two published books and numerous short stories; he is a member of the Horror Writers Association as well the founder of Pen of the Damned, a collective of angst and horror driven writers. Indulge in his unique voice on his personal blog josephpinto.com and PenofTheDamned.com. You can follow him on Twitter @JosephAPinto. Joseph hails from New Jersey where he lives with his wife and young daughter.

 

Twitter | Facebook | Blog | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

DuskAndSummer_JosephAPinto_PostCard

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Dusk and Summer

  1. Pingback: Dusk and Summer Blog Tour: Stop #4 | Author Joseph Pinto's Horror (and things not so horrible) Blog

  2. Hi Megan, I truly appreciate you bringing me aboard your blog so I could share my book Dusk and Summer with your audience! I hope you and your readers stay honest with yourselves; stick to your guns and stay on the path your heart intends always! 🙂 Thank you again for your support! 🙂

Leave a Reply

