The Road is Paved with Good Intentions

We all have those people in our lives who think that they’re helping us out by doing something. While that may be the case every once in a while, there are those that will project their feelings into the situation and create more problems than solutions.

The latter is what I’m currently dealing with.

I love my friends and respect their opinions, but I also appreciate them staying out of my business when clearly asked. This past weekend I had a door shut forever by a friend with “good intentions.” I say that lightly as she’s voiced her displeasure of my decisions in the past regarding this specific situation.

A few months ago, she inserted herself into the situation with disastrous, but somewhat salvageable consequences. This time, after telling her not five minutes before she ruined everything to keep her mouth shut, she blatantly disregarded my wishes and turned a part of my life on its head.

She was drunk, but I don’t feel that’s a legitimate excuse in any situation to not control yourself. I tried talking to her, to understand why she would do that, but I just can’t figure it out. I’m trying to be the bigger person and move on from the situation, but my anger and hurt are still clouding my judgement.

I have no idea what to really do about it. I’ve accepted that a part of my life has been cut off for good, and that she played a part in it, but I can’t wrap my head around the “why” of it all. I haven’t really been in this situation before where I do want to keep my friend in my life but am struggling to reconcile my anger toward her.

If you’ve ever been in a situation like this, I’d love to hear how you’ve handled or dealt with that person or situation.

Leave a Reply

