Checking In

At the beginning of the year, we all made our resolutions, and while the good majority of us have yet to live up to them all, I felt it was a good time to check in with myself and see just how far along I’ve gotten in making all my goals a reality.

Right before New Year’s Eve, I wrote a post called Kicking the New Year Off Right where I stated what my realities for the year are. Here’s a recap of what I wanted to accomplish:

  • Graduate with my Master’s degree
  • Move closer to my friends and family
  • Travel outside of work

And while these are the main three I listed in the post, there were a few more things that I put on what I like to refer to as my “reality board.” I don’t need to post the entire thing here, as it is pretty big, but here were the other things on that list, and more specifics:

  • Play more volleyball
  • Go to New Orleans
  • Get my motorcycle license
  • Get published in a literary magazine

There may have been a few more here and there, but the above are the ones that were at the top of the list and most important. And, after seven months, I can say that I’ve been able to check nearly every one of these items off my list.

In January, I was published by A Sirens Call Issue #13. I wasn’t expecting this one to happen so quickly, but it set the pace for the year. In February, I graduated with my MFA in Creative Writing from Full Sail university. In March, I got my motorcycle license. In April, I moved into a new apartment that’s minutes away from my friends and family, although work is now an hour away. I was playing volleyball every Friday night, but now it’s just the occasional Sunday, and hopefully next week, I’ll start playing Wednesday nights with a new friend. And for the last of the items above, I will be traveling with a close friend to New Orleans in December. And it’s not for work, although we will most likely be driving a work car.

Looking back at the beginning of the year, how well have you done in making your resolutions or whatever you want to call them into realities?

One thought on “Checking In

Leave a Reply

