Interview with Jamie Grey

JamieJamie Grey spent most of her childhood writing stories about princesses who saved the day and pretending to be a daring explorer. It wasn’t until much later that she realized she should combine the two. Now, as a tech-obsessed gamer geek, her novels mix amazing scientific developments, future worlds, and the remarkable characters that live in them.

Jamie lives in Michigan with her boyfriend and their pets, who luckily tolerate her overspending on tea, books, and video games. You can learn more about her at www.jamiegreybooks.com, or follow her on twitter via @jamie_grey.


Read the interview below with the author of Athena’s Ashes, Jamie Grey.


When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

 

Always? I remember writing down stories as a kid, making little books for my parents and illustrating them. Then about five years ago I stumbled on a critique site, joined and started getting feedback on my writing. I realized that maybe I could actually write things that people wanted to read. I’ve been hooked ever since!

What drew you to the sci-fi genre?

It’s funny, I actually started out writing fantasy. I loved those kinds of books as a kid – getting lost in different worlds, meeting new people. But then I started watching a few sci-fi TV shows a couple of years ago and realized the two genres were actually similar, just with different settings. Somehow when I started writing sci-fi everything just clicked, I felt comfortable and at home. It was surprising, but I’m just going with it for now J I have to say, I’m kind of a genre chameleon so I’m sure I’ll be trying out something new soon!

Why did you write Star Thief Chronicles Series & Athena’s Ashes?

I think it was because I was a huge fan of sci-fi romance books and just didn’t find very many out there. So, basically I was trying to write the type of book I wanted to read! And I love space, so there’s that too!

What do you want most to leave with your readers when they’ve shut the back cover?

I want them to be in love with the characters and world, and breathless from the ride. I want them to worry about what’s going to happen next. There’s nothing better than a reader who’s desperate to read your next book!

What’s your favorite aspect of writing science fiction?

The freedom to create a new world or play with our current world and explore different themes and ideas you can’t do in contemporary books. Seeing how someone reacts to a completely alien culture or world, or putting them in a situation no one has ever had to deal with before is really satisfying. But there’s also the ability to show that people are the same no matter when/where they live. Plus it’s just fun!

What does Renna consider worse: the fate of the universe in her hands, or the relationship issues she’s dealing with?

I think Renna’s biggest problem is trying to balance the fact that she’s spent all of her life trying to look out for herself and do what’s best for her, and now suddenly she’s in a situation where she has to look out for other people and she has no idea how to react.

She’s been careful to keep her relationships superficial to protect herself, but somehow she’s gotten sucked into this complicated situation where she has to face her feelings and be responsible for other people and all sorts of things she doesn’t like. So yes, she’s fine with the action of saving the galaxy, not so much with having to figure out her emotions and feelings.

If you met Renna at a bar, how would you interact?

I think I’d be totally intimidated by Renna. She’s gorgeous, charming, and self confident. But I think once we started talking, we’d get along pretty well. I think we both have a sarcastic sense of humor and similar outlook on life. (Which may or may not be a good thing LOL)

If you could live in any literary universe, which would it be?

How to choose just one!? I think I’d have to go with Narnia. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe series was my favorite growing up, and they’re still comfort reads today, so getting to live in Narnia would be amazing!

 

Leave a Reply

