Blog Tour: Hold On!

HoldOn!_850HIGHRomantic Suspense/Thriller
Date Published: July 9, 2014

SYNOPSIS

Two lovers! A deadly conspiracy! A race to freedom! 

When Carringby Industries, a government-contracted arms manufacturer, is raided by what appear to be terrorists, the CEO’s secretary, Belinda Reese, is rescued by Brandon Drake, a dashing young AWOL soldier. Using an experimental test aircraft, he flees with her to his remote, isolated cabin in the mountains of Aspen.

While assisting in the design of military weaponry, Brandon discovered a plot within his own government to attack its own facilities, under the guidance of immoral politician, Senator Garrison Treadwell. Belinda’s body was not found among the dead at Carringby Industries, and Treadwell suspects that Drake was responsible for rescuing her. In an effort to entrap him, Treadwell arranges for an all points bulletin to be placed on Belinda.

Deeply in love, Brandon and Belinda attempt to escape from America, only to endure one harrowing experience after another as they try to evade and expose Treadwell’s corrupt faction.

But on the run, with danger around every corner, Brandon makes a discovery so devastating that it shatters the very foundations of his reality.

WHAT INSPIRES ME TO WRITE?

 

Throughout my life, I have been drawn to concepts of a fantastic nature. As a kid, I remember being absolutely drawn-in by concepts such as superheroes – Spider-Man, Batman, Superman, and my all-time favourite – The Incredible Hulk. The latter was 100% the result of the TV series created by my now-dear-friend, producer, Kenny Johnson. “What if it could happen? What if it wasn’t just a fantasy?”

Never a subscriber to nonsense, I began training, both with weights and athletics to see how fast I could run, and how strong I could cause my muscles to become.

OK, I didn’t become the Six Million Dollar Man. I hit my top running speed at 19 MPH, (not 60 MPH) and I can turn out ten reps on a 70lb dumbbell (not a Sherman tank.) My mission, ultimately, led me to becoming a calendar model, so it wasn’t a total loss. 🙂

But what is a hero? Is he born? Or is he made? Is he fearless? Or is he someone who is absolutely terrified, but who walks through it?

In asking these questions, I had to accept that if a hero is a fearless man, he isn’t a man. He’s a machine! That left me with option #2. He’s a man who is willing to walk through his fears. With that, I had the prologue of my thriller series, Hold On!

From that point, one idea after another came to me. I let it all out – my passions, my anger, my resentment, and my ultimate desires. There was the beautiful woman whom I had saved from corrupt officials. I took her to my secret cabin in the mountains, and we fell in love.

But utopia is not reality . . .

At all costs, this had to be credible, and the darkness had to balance it out. Heroes, who are flawed in some way, tend to be the most compelling. By the time I’d turned myself into Brandon Drake, I had to acknowledge my own dark side. He had a secret that even he didn’t know about, and this led to one of the greatest cliffhangers in Hold On!

Driven on by AOR rock music in my CD drive, I created one cliffhanger after another. I would create a cliffhanger without even knowing how it would be resolved. I had to find out. My mind was tHe only place the next chapter could come from.

What if it was a TV series? What would the theme sound like? Would it have turn-to-the-camera-freeze-frame ‘starring’ title cards?

I was asked – what inspires me to write? On this occasion, I decided to be the hero, and walk through my fears about what people might think. THIS is what goes through my head. I am not a literary purist, or an anal-adherent to the tyranny of convention and thought-crime, regardless of the price that may come with honesty.

“Only the dreamer can keep the hope alive.” – Jane Wiedlin (Inside a Dream, 1988.)

– Peter Darley

AMAZON

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

AUTHOR INFO

IMG_2186Peter Darley (P.D. to his friends) is a British novelist, whose professional history is in showbusiness. He is a graduate of the Birmingham School of Speech and Dramatic Art, and he studied television drama at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art (RADA.) His television credits include guest-starring roles is UK productions such as BBC’s Crime Ltd, Stanley’s Dragon for ITV, The Bill, and Sky One’s Dream Team, and numerous TV commercials. He has also worked as a model, presenter, and voice-over artiste for ten years, and has acted as an agent for several variety acts.

His lifelong admiration of heroes, and love of roller-coaster-style thrills have been a huge influence on his writings.

He is a keen athlete and body builder, and lives with his partner in rural England.

 

Leave a Reply

