NaNoWriMo is Back, Baby!

Photo property of NaNoWriMo.org

Photo property of NaNoWriMo.org

For those of you that don’t know, November is National Novel Writing Month, which I refer to affectionately as Nano or NaNoWriMo. It’s a time for budding and established writers o try and write 50,000 words in one month. That’s right! It may seem like a pretty lofty goal, but with great incentives, meet ups, and the offer for free editing services, what’s not to like?

This challenge isn’t for everyone, and out of the two times I’ve tried, I have yet to finish the 50,000 words. This year, however, I feel that I have a good enough idea, plenty of plot bunnies, and a good start on how I think it will all come together.

But I’m the type of writer where I need pressure and deadlines to be creative and whip out work. Contests like these are so free-form and unrestrictive that it’s hard for me to get in the groove. I know many writers who love the opportunity to just write and write for days, with little to no pressure, and I just don’t get it! I want to be able to do that.

Each writer has their own way of doing things, but sometimes, I want a different way. I want to break away from the pressure and be free with my writing.

If you have advice for authors, or those competing in NaNoWriMo this year, I’m all ears!!

Leave a Reply

