Some Things Just Don’t Come Easy

It’s already the second month of 2015, and that’s hard for me to accept. It feels like it was only a few days ago that I was planning my New Years realities and setting up my blog schedule. But from then until now, I’ve done nothing. And I don’t even know why.

Yes, I now have a gym membership and work out 3-4 times a week, but I have time before that. Yes, I’m spending more time with my friends, but a blog post doesn’t have to be seven pages long. Yes, I haven’t been reading as much lately, but I blame the gym for that one!

I feel like I’ve fallen into a writing rut, and no amount of anything has been able to really motivate me, personally or professionally. I have so many things I want to accomplish within the next few months and this year, that I feel that pressure may be getting to me and making me not want to reach for those things.

Pressure and I have never seen eye to eye, and disappointment is something I’ve become more familiar with over the last four or five months. And it sucks. Last year, I was writing four to five posts a week, a book review every two weeks or so, and little happenings in my life. Now? I don’t even know where to start.

I see the bloggers that I’ve been following for years continue to push out great content and I can’t help but wonder just how they do it. From the book blogs to the writers to the poets and everything in between, here is my question to you:

How do you stay motivated?

4 thoughts on “Some Things Just Don’t Come Easy

  1. Hi Megan, I don’t think there’s a single author out there who can’t relate to the honesty in this post. There’s no pat answer. But I think that same honesty is probably the best motivation. As artists, we leave our hearts on our sleeves. Unfiltered. (I love the title of your blog, btw). And writing through the “meh” moments tends to help me remember why I write to begin with, if that makes sense. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Crystal,

      Thanks so much for your kind reply. Mentioning the reasons we write in the first place really resonated with me, reminding me of why I write, why I started writing. While I still have some hurdles to jump over, this was that little push that I needed.

Leave a Reply

